Search UCEA

The Roald F. Campbell Lifetime Achievement Award


The Roald F. Campbell Lifetime Achievement Award was instituted by UCEA in 1992 for the purpose of recognizing senior professors in the field of educational administration whose professional lives have been characterized by extraordinary commitment, excellence, leadership, productivity, generosity, and service. At the same time, the award celebrates the remarkable pioneering life of Roald F. Campbell, whose distinguished career spanned many years and exemplified these characteristics. The award consists of a unique bronze eagle presented at the UCEA Convention.
Roald F. Campbell

The criteria used in selecting recipients include:

  • longtime distinguished service as teacher/researcher in the field of educational administration;
  • superior contributions to the field's body of knowledge;
  • recognized leadership efforts to improve the field, especially the preparation of educational administrators and/or professors of educational administration.

Campbell Award Recipients



Robert Crowson, Peabody College – Vanderbilt University

Kenneth Arthur Leithwood, University of Toronto – Ontario Institute for Studies in Education

2011 Joseph F. Murphy, Vanderbilt University
2010 Rodney Ogawa, University of California-Santa Cruz
2009 Karen Seashore Louis, University of Minnesota
2008 Catherine Marshall, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
2007 Cecil Miskel, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor (Retired)
2006 Jerry Starrat, Boston College
2005 Flora Ida Ortiz, University of California, Riverside
2004 Martha McCarthy, Indiana University
2003 Wayne Hoy, The Ohio State University
2002 William L. Boyd, Penn State
2001 Barbara Jackson, Fordham University
2000 Luvern L. Cunningham, University of Akron
1999 no award
1998 Norman J. Boyan, University of California-Santa Barbara
1997 Donald J. Willower, The Pennsylvania State University
1996 Edwin M. Bridges, Stanford University
1995 Richard A. Schmuck, The University of Oregon
1994 David L. Clark, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
1993 Jack A. Culbertson, The Ohio State University
1992 Daniel E. Griffiths, New York University

Nominations are welcome from faculty member(s) of UCEA member institutions and partner institutions. Nominations should include electronic copies of the following:

  • the candidate's curriculum vitae;
  • a letter addressing the contributions of the nominee relative to one or more of the selection criteria;
  • support letters from individuals who have been directly mentored by the nominee, and/or individuals who can attest to the nominee's mentoring strengths, are strongly encouraged.

A UCEA committee appointed by the Executive Director will review and evaluate the nominees. This committee will reserve the right to present this award to multiple candidates on any given year, or conversely, not to present this award should nominees not fully meet the selection criteria. The deadline for nominations is May 31, 2014. Please email electronic copies of all nomination materials to with the title of the award in the subject line.