Search UCEA

The Paula Silver Case Award

The Paula Silver Case Award was instituted by UCEA in 1999 to memorialize the life and work of Paula Silver, a UCEA associate director and president-elect who made significant contributions to our program through excellence in scholarship, advocacy of women, and an inspired understanding of praxis. A sterling silver bowl is presented annually to the author(s) of the most outstanding case published during the last volume of the UCEA Journal of Cases in Educational Leadership.


Paula Silver

Silver Award Recipients




Carol Karpinski, Fairleigh Dickinson University

Lisa Bass, University of Oklahoma
Gregg Garn, University of Oklahoma
Lisa Monroe, University of Oklahoma

2011 Donald Peurach, Michigan State University
Gary E. Marx Eastern, Michigan University
2010 Enrique Aleman, University of Utah
2008 Kerry S. Kearney, Oklahoma State University
Judith K. Mathers, Oklahoma State University
2007 Lorraine Miller, Duval County Public Schools
David Strader, University of Texas-Arlington
2006 David Mayrowetz, University of Illinois at Chicago
John Preston Price, Chicago Public Schools
2005 Donald Leech, Valdostg State University
Lorraine Miller, Duval County Public School
2004 Duane Covrig, University of Akron
Louis Trenta, University of Akron
Sharon Kruse, University of Akron


Sandra Lowrey, Stephen F. Austin State University
Sandra Harris, Stephen F. Austin State University


George White, Lehigh University
Thomas Mayes, Lehigh University


Stephen Davis, University of The Pacific


Karen Seashore, University of Minnesota
BetsAnn Smith, Michigan State University
1999          James S. Rinehart, University of Kentucky